Eating Right and Balanced for Everyday Life

Notice how I worded the topic for this post.  Everyday life, by this I mean there is NO such thing as a short-term crash diet. I needed to cover this topic mandatory ASAP. Many of my clients and friends do not know about proper eating basics and even what food groups are about. So here I am going to break it down as simple as I can.

First I am going to tell you why eating properly is so important.  I encourage eating a balance diet to everyone every single day.  I ask my clients what they eat and the answers I get hurt my ears. Many of them just eat protein or just eat carbs and the biggest thing is not eating enough throughout the day.  OOUCHHHH to me!!  Let me tell you a balance diet contains proper amounts of necessary nutrients required for healthy growth and activity. Which is eating at the same time protein, carbohydrates and fats.  Here is the break down into these three groups for everyone, they are;

Proteins=

Plant Based- tempeh, lentils, edamame, beans, veggie burger, Quinoa, nuts, brown and black rice, spinach

Animals based – tuna, chicken, hamburger, pork, steak, yogurt, cheese, milk, fish

I highly suggest trying to eat as many plant-based proteins instead of meat. There are a million reasons why and I will touch more on that in my days on this blog, but just to name a few reasons the health of our planet and the health of most individuals would greatly improve.   Diets light on meat (dead animals) show a significant reduction in cancer, heart disease, diabetes, arthritis, and newer studies are even saying Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s diseases.

Carbs

Nom Nom NOm . I love carbs. You sometimes hear many people say cut your carb intake or lower it. NOM- sense. Thats ridiculous. Balance on the numbers I gave you.  Get them in!! Carbs are very important, essential they keep you going and give you energies. Maybe that’s why I have so much!! People ask me how do I have so much energies. Well it’s because I never neglect my carbs. I try not to over indulge, but I make sure I have them. And I mainly have good carbs by that I mean complex carbohydrates such as grains ( multi-grains) and veggies over simple carbs that include potatoes and sugars. The complex carbs give me a constant source of feel good because they are slower to convert to energy. Try to limit your simple carbohydrates which are sugars that can lead to sharp rises and drops in blood levels.

Complex Carbs=

Fresh fruit

Non-starchy veggies

Whole grains and Multi grains (such as certain types of bread and cereal)

And these contain both carbs and protein

Nuts

Legumes

Some dairy such as milk

Simple carbs=

Refined grains like white bread, white rice and enriched pasta

Processed foods such as cake, candy cookies and chips 😦 yes cookies are in here shhh moderation is key!!

White potatoes

Sweetened soft drinks

Sugar

Fats

And then there is Fats. They have a bad reputation. There are good fats and bad fats. Obviously you should stick to the good ones.  Fats help the body absorb necessary vitamins and aid your immune system. Saturated fats are often found in meats and dairy products. YUCK !  You should try to limit saturated fats wherever possible as high intake can increase cholesterol and your chances of future coronary problems. Instead seek healthier fats from nuts, fish and olives.

foods containing Good fats=

canola, sunflower, olive, soy bean oils, nuts, avocados,  salmon

Bad fats=

Butters, creams, mayo, bacon and all pork, any fried foods, peanut butters (try and buy low-fat one)

Foods I avoid most of the time… GROSS!!

Whole milk, butters, mayo, creamy anything that includes dressings. .

Rose (HotBAMness) lives by at least this= 30 grams of protein, 50 grams of carbs, 20 grams of fat intake a day.  It seems to work pretty well for me. Those numbers are not exact, but they are normal for a non active day.  The numbers tweak however depending on my daily activity and my goals. For example if I am working out hard I will up the grams of all of them, especially in the protein intake to repair my muscles.

Why will I do that ..? After you work out your muscles are like a sponge approximately for about 45- 60 min. if your give your bod protein it will rebuild and repair the microtears in the muscle tissue. By doing so you reduce the soreness and increase your sexy muscles. And the more muscles you have guys the more calories you burn at rest which means you can eat more cookies.. opps I mean just eat more. lol

diet

Many fad diets that promise and often deliver fast weight-loss are unsustainable because of their imbalance and inability to provide vital nutrients.  This is why you feel like total crap when you try doing them. A balanced diet will enable the body to get the correct fuel to help manage weight and energy levels.  Crash diets and improper training  can cause decreased energy, performance, and strength. Also it stresses your body out, can reduce immunity and add to early aging.  Usually your muscles are affected and you’re not losing fat, only storing it.  But proper eating and exercise leads to long term fat loss and lean muscle.   So why wouldn’t you do this!!!!  Proper balance diets and engaging in exercise will increase your fitness, give you a sexy a$$, increase endurance,  delays aging and reduces disease. So don’t try to cheat the system and starve or take crazy pills. Trust me you will feel and look a whole lot better. Get it done!! And do it Right!

– R

5 thoughts on “Eating Right and Balanced for Everyday Life

Leave a Reply

